The Greatest Love of All

Is anyone ever really on your side. I wanted someone to stand shoulder to shoulder with me and they did not. They took a position removed from my own. They were not diametrically opposed but they I didn’t feel that they had my back.

In this world we are all alone. At any time the sensations we experience are processed separately and each of us had a unique perception of the world around them. Sharing  is at best a compromise of ideas and at worst a complete subjugation of the self. I have known for a long time that we all die alone but it is living alone with everyone else that is slowly killing me. 

I’m not talking about solitude. That lovely place is where I am right now, alone with my thoughts and lost in the most beautiful place I have ever been, the inside of my own mind. It’s the feeling of being alone that others bring with them and unpack as thoughtlessly as some tuna sandwiches on a plate at summer picnic. People laugh and smile and every foray into the light soufflé of society leaves me pancake flat as if there is no air in those cheerful places. The hail-fellow-well-met brigade offer a hearty superficiality that is not concrete enough to lean on. 

I want someone on my side. Someone who thinks I am great and supports me with unconditional love.  They need to travel with me on the Asperger Path and hold my hand. 

Given that it cannot be anyone else I will learn to love myself. Now where is that Whitney Houston CD?

Leave a Reply

