Circles


Last night I had dinner with friends and it was a lovely way to end the long holiday weekend. In other parts of the world people were  celebrating Easter but here we are still celebrating the Khmer New Year. 

The world can be such a small place and most of the people around our table last night know a friend of mine from the capital city. This link, albeit tenuous, makes me feel a sense of trust belonging that is rare. The Asperger Path tends to shy away from multidimensional relationships and favour black and white labelling and compartmentalisation. Circles of friends are tricky for me. The subtle interrelationships can leave me floundering and lost. However there I was sharing an evening with work colleagues and non work colleagues, friends and partners, homos and straights and I was happy. 

I usually prefer my friendships to be like a simple spider diagram. Each friendship separated and independent. Each one stranded out into a straight line. This does not leave me in the centre of anything but does allow an intensity on which I have thrived in the past. I tend to meet a friend and devote my attentions solely to them. Deep conversations are preferable to the lighter chatter of a group setting. 

I will persevere with this group. Serendipity has dropped me amongst good-hearted people who I enjoy spending time with.  I’m travelling because I wanted to change the life I had. So I will try circles, spirals, wheels as well as the straight lines I am used to. 

Sour s’day chhnam th’mei – Happy New Year. 

Leave a Reply

